Who’s treat is it really ?

So, a few weeks ago my husband informed me there was another “workshop” (for lack of a better word) with former and current colleagues. This is something that takes place once a year. They provide a nice dinner and drinks, etc. So last weekend when we were grocery shopping, I had to figure out something for “dinner for 1”.  Normally I would buy things for a nice salad but this time I just wasn’t in the mood for a salad so I chose a frozen pizza, I know, right ? My husband kept asking if that’s really what I want because he felt bad that he’d be having a nice meal while I’m sitting at home eating frozen pizza. I told him I really didn’t mind, even though, I would have liked to have gone but these “workshops” don’t work that way so frozen pizza for 1 is what it was going to be.

It’s the day of the colleague “workshop” and he’s getting ready for work, he continues to tell me how bad he feels that I’m having pizza at home, alone while he’s going to be having this nice meal. I kept telling him it was fine and not to worry about it.

Later that afternoon, it occurred to me that I could ask him to bring home a nice treat, but I wasn’t sure how late he would be getting home, since these workshops easily go into the late evening. So I sent him a message and told him that he could make up for the nice meal he would be having by bringing me home a treat. When I ask for a treat, he automatically knows that I want ice cream, so something from McDonalds.

He told me it might be late but he will call to find out if I would be up and if he should put my treat in the freezer.

It was just after 10 pm when he let me know he was going to be on his way home, about 45 minutes later I get the call. He’s on his way but there isn’t a McDonalds on the way so I tell him not to worry about it because I was going to head to bed but he said it’s no problem and he’d go to the one we usually go to, so I decided to stay up and wait.

Finally he gets home and he walks in with a drink holder with 2 McFluurys, along with a small McDonalds sack. I guess he decided to get himself a treat also AND something else. So we both ate our McFlurrys and then he opened the McDonald sack, pulling out a small cheesburger. As he’s pulling off a small piece of cheese, he asks me, “would you like a piece?” I thought for sure that small piece of cheese was going to be what he’s offering me but he actually broke off about 1/3 of the cheesburger and gave that to me, I know, right ?

So I’m really confused, he felt bad that I was sitting at home eating frozen pizza, he brought me a treat to make up for the nice dinner he had and he also got a treat.. how does that work ?

I guess next time, I’ll buy a steak and potatos to make dinner for 1 and get ice cream for dessert.

Leave a Reply

