Let me introduce myself

las vegasI was born and raised in Utah, moved and lived most of my life in Oregon. Now I live in the Netherlands. What brought me here ? My Dutch husband and this is how it all happened.

I basically lived alone in a basement apartment, my entertainment was playing poker via Facebook. I met several people and we became friends and would meet up the same time every day and would run amok at the tables. It wasn’t really as bad as it sounds, most of the time we were being silly and just having innocent fun.

It became quite addicting to me and I found myself playing poker into the early hours of the morning, putting myself in a crowd of people from halfway around the world. FYI, my mother is from the Netherlands and I’ve always been interested in meeting Dutch people.

One morning while I was playing, I happen to notice that one of the players at the table just so happen to be from the Netherlands. So, I poker buddied him and struck up a conversation. I mentioned my mother growing up there and always wanted to meet Dutch people so we then became Facebook friends and kept in touch.

Even though he would comment/like some of my posts and visa versa, on a regular basis,  it wasn’t for at least a year that we started chatting every day, one thing led to another and it started getting serious between the both of us and the next thing I know, we exchanged those 3 little words, “I love you”.  After that we were online together as often as we could. He’d get up early, I’d stay up late.

Things progressed pretty fast and soon he was on a flight heading my way to visit for 2 weeks. During that time I was in total aw and did not want it to end. Those 2 weeks flew by like nobody’s business and it was time for him to go home back to the Netherlands.  We had no idea what was in the future. We continued to talk every day for nearly 6 hours, (we had a special subscription on skype and he could call my phone)  I was connected to a phone charger cord almost 24/7.

He came back to visit 5 months later which during that time we drove to Las Vegas and got married so now we have to make definite plans. I agreed it’d be easier for me to move since he had a house and long time job so we set  the wheels in motion. Unfortunately I had to stay behind when he returned so for another 5 months we were apart. On October 11, 2011 I made my way across the great Atlantic pond.

I have now been here for 4 years.. My life has changed so much and I only wish that I had started this blog at the beginning of my journey.

Leave a Reply

